California Women’s Championship

California seeks to crown new female amateur golf champion!

Today kicks off the California Women’s Championship in Ojai, California! The 18th California Women’s Championship is being held at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa at 905 Country Club Road, Ojai, CA, 93023. This tournament is hosted by four California Women’s Golf Associations:  Pacific Women’s Golf Association (PWGA) , San Diego County Women’s Golf Association (SDCWGA), Women’s Golf Association of… Northern California (WGANC) and Women’s Southern California Golf Association (WSCGA).

The championship is run by a volunteer committee. The format of the Championship is 54 holes of individual stroke play. Eligibility requirements are that a player be a female of any age, a California resident for at least 6 months of the year and have a USGA handicap index of no greater than 10.4.  The Championship is held in July to facilitate college and high school players.  This event qualifies as a World Amateur Golf Ranking event.

The results of the California Women’s Championship determine which players will represent the state at the USGA Women’s State Team Championship.  This year the USGA State Team Championship will be contested at NCR Country Club in Kettering, Ohio on September 17-19.  Each state is invited to send its three best players, College players are ineligible for the State Team Championship due to NCAA bylaws. As a result, the field for the Women’s State Team Championship is usually made up almost entirely of midamateur and senior players. California uses a point system to select the three-woman team, based on participation and performance in the CWC.

About The California Women’s Championship

The idea for the California Women’s State Championship was born in January of 1994 at the USGA Annual Meeting. It was felt that a State Championship would provide a “true women’s Champion” from the state of California. In 1995, five of the Women’s Golf Associations in California, consisting of the Pacific Women’s Golf Association, San Diego County Women’s Golf Association, Women’s Golf Association of Northern California, Women’s Public Links Golf Association and the Women’s Southern California Golf Association, began orchestrating the Championship. Money to sponsor the tournament was and continues to be provided by four of these associations (PWGA, WGANC, SDCWGA and WSCGA) with two representatives from each forming the CWC Committee. The dream became a reality in July of l996 with the first Championship being held at Torrey Pines Golf Course in San Diego, California.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s