2010 Annual Meeting

The 2010 WSCGA Annual Meeting was held on December 6th at the beautiful Mission Viejo Country Club!

Once again WSCGA presented its annual awards to three very special individuals….the Distinguished Service Award, the Judy Borden (Volunteer of the Year) Award and the Professional of the Year Award. This year’s recipients could not have been more deserving.

Mary Wickser of Oakmont Country Club, received the WSCGA Distinguished Service Award. Along with her many other accomplishments and contributions to women’s golf, Mary has devoted over 14 years specifically to WSCGA. Beginning in 1990, she was a Regional Director for the Valley and the Gold Coast as well as the WSCGA Tournament Director before serving as the Board President from 1994-1996. You’d think she would have been ready to step down after six years, but she then served as the Advisor from 1996-1998 and was a Director-at-Large for four years following that. During her tenure Mary was extremely instrumental in bringing WSCGA to the digital age; not only did she champion the use of WSCGA’s computerized tournament program, she was also at the helm when WSCGA launched its Women’s Online Golf web site….the first women’s golf association to do so. Mary was also a key figure in the establishment of the California Women’s Championship and conducted that organization’s first tournament at Torrey Pines and its third at Del Mar.

And if you think Mary rested on her laurels after her service to WSCGA, think again. She’s served at the club level as President, Rules Chair, Handicap Chair, Assistant Team Captain and Liaison, as well as being a part of many Tournament Committees….not to mention that she’s returning to WSCGA in 2011 as a Foundation Trustee.

Our sincere thanks to you, Mary, for your many contributions, not just to WSCGA but to women’s golf at all levels. Congratulations!

The Judy Borden Award was established in 2007 to recognize a recipient whose outstanding volunteerism have furthered WSCGA and the game of golf in the interest of women. The 2010 honoree, Mary Gattas of Red Hill Country Club, meets that criteria unequivocally….and then some. Mary has not only been a member of the WSCGA Course Rating Committee for 13 years (since 1997), she’s also a member of the Assistance League of Upland, the National Charity League and a volunteer at the San Antionio Hospital auxilliary. As you can see, volunteering isn’t new to her!

Mary began playing golf when she was 48 years old and quickly became hooked. She was the club champion at Red Hill 10 times between 1987 and 2000 and has had 7 hole-in-ones over the past 30 years. She’s been an active contributor at her club, serving in the positions of Chairperson, Secretary, Major and Tuesday Tournament Chair, Handicap Chair and Team Captain. She’s been on the Greens Committee since 1999 and is still an active member. Mary’s hobbies are golf, gardening and bridge. She enjoys gardening so much that she tends to the rose garden at Red Hill!

WSCGA thanks you and salutes you, Mary. Congratulations!

Last, but definitely not least, WSCGA recognized the 2010 Profesional of the Year, Kimi McNary from Western Hills. Kimi is a “child of golf”, growing up in an avid golfing family. Both her mother and her grandmother were members of WSCGA! Before turning professional and earning many accolades in that arena, Kimi participated in numberous WSCGA tournaments, many of which she won, including the Mid-Winter, the Desert Event, the Tournament of Champions and the Masters Championship. She also has three course records to her name…a 66 at Desert Oasis, a 67 at Auburn Valley and a 67 at Bidwell Park.

The ladies at Western Hills came in force to support Kimi as she was honored. They describe her as “the girl next door”, everyone’s friend and always there with her great smile and servant’s heart. She’s “a super instructor, a capable adminstrator and always the smiling face of golf at Western Hills!”

WSCGA thanks you, Kimi, for everything you’ve done over the years in support of the organization and women’s golf! Congratulations!

While the awards ceremony was very uplifting, the meeting also served as introduction to three new Board members and a farewell to two who are leaving. New to the Board in 2011 are Karen Roche (Shadow Hills), Louise Wright (Cimarron) and Sharyn Buck (Calabasas). Leaving are Diane Wootton (Birnam Wood) and Dale Zdankiewicz (Silver Lakes). Lanis Peterson (Western Hills) also steps down as President but, fortunately for us, will remain as the Advisor.

As a “first” attendees enjoyed a round of golf on the challenging MVCC course following the informative and entertaining meeting. We’d like to personally thank B.J. Kennedy and the other women members of Misson Viejo for stepping up to offer their clubhouse and course as the venue for this wonderful event. The hospitality of both staff and members was warmly felt!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s